Activity Documentation and Reporting

by old_man_biking

Downloads: 2,132 (14) • Reviews: 1

Version:

3.0.5966

Updated:

May 2, 2016

Another FTP upload error

Another FTP upload error

Postby Frieder Tonn » Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:55 am

The upload from the Activity Documentation and Reporting plugin was working fine for a long time.
Now I get the following error-message (the setup was unchanged):

Image

What is the reason - IPV6? Many thanks for your help.

Regards,
Frieder
Frieder Tonn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:12 am

Re: Another FTP upload error

Postby old_man_biking » Fri Sep 28, 2018 11:17 am

Yes, this looks like an IPV6 address. It might be that the hostname, which you've configured for your ftp server was previously resolved to an IPV4 address and is now resolved to am IPV6 address.
Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6512
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Another FTP upload error

Postby Frieder Tonn » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:21 am

Hello OMB,

that means, that the plugin only can bring up IPV4 Connections. Thats right?
The ftp-hostname is ftp.strato.com, I think, thats very common.

Frieder
Frieder Tonn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:12 am

Re: Another FTP upload error

Postby old_man_biking » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:28 am

Frieder Tonn wrote:Hello OMB,

that means, that the plugin only can bring up IPV4 Connections. Thats right?
The ftp-hostname is ftp.strato.com, I think, thats very common.

Frieder

The plugin is built upon .NET V2.0, so it basically supports IPv6. However, in order to let an application successfully use IPv6, several prerequisites must be fulfilled:
your Internet Service Provider must provide IPv6 support, your Internet router must support it and needs to be properly configured, you must have enabled IPv6 in the protocl stack of your network adapter in the Windows network configuration, you must have enabled IPv6 support for .NET (see https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... bling-ipv6). If you don't know exactly what you're doing, you might mess up things - not only for the AD plugin but possibly for your Windows installation. So I do not encourage you to do this. And I cannot and will not provide any support for this venture.
You should better stay with IPv4. When I do a "nslookup ftp.strato.com", I get IPv4 address 81.169.145.47 . So your can use this in the AD plugin configuration instead of ftp.strato.com. It's rather unlikely that Strato changes the IP address of their FTP server frequently.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6512
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Another FTP upload error

Postby Frieder Tonn » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:40 am

Hello OMB,

I tried to use 81.169.145.47 instead of ftp.strato.com but I got exactly the same error-message (see above).
I tried it in 3 different networks with different routers.
So I have changed the ftp-server. Now it is gmxhome.de and it works fine.
Thank you very much for your help.

Regards,
Frieder
Frieder Tonn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:12 am


Return to Activity Documentation and Reporting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron