Custom Data Tracks

by old_man_biking

Downloads: 1,806 (5) • Reviews: 0

Version:

3.0.5980

Updated:

May 15, 2016

Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby pkiszk » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:12 am

I am new to this plugin and need some basic help about calculating averages for a given data stream - in my case, I want to smooth the power data for a given activity. What would be the formula to create a running average over 3 seconds for Power so that it can be later plotted on the graph ?

regards,
Przemek

OMB: moved post from thread "Custom Data Tracks plugin: Formulas pool" into separate thread. Please don't hijack the "Formulas pool" thread for asking questions. As the title states, it's thought to be a repository of formulas.
pkiszk
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:26 am

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby tndmbkr » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:36 am

I would like to know too.
Unfortunately I do not know how to.
tndmbkr
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby old_man_biking » Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:54 pm

All you want to do is a 3 second running avg?
Isn't that what ST's data smoothing ( see Settings:Analysis) provides?
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby tndmbkr » Wed Apr 22, 2015 3:06 pm

I want to calculate a TSS for a part of an activity.
Of course I can split the activity, and let TAplugin do the job.
But when it is possible to calculate a TSS for a part of an activity within CustomDataTracks, it means less work.

Now I have a Calculated Custom Data Track which I call TSSpersecond:
MathPow(DataPointPower,4)
I select a part of the track, and read the number in the left y axis.
That number is an an average value for the Power entries^4
Then I calculate the sqrtsqrt of this number with a desktopcalculator, to obtain sort of a Normalized Power.

But I cannot compare this outcome with more formal calculations.
These formal calculations use a 30sec rolling average of the Power entries for the calculation of a NP


When I increase the smoothing of a Calculated Custom Data Track, the average value does not change.
The red line is a powertrack without smoothing; Average selected track=297
The blue line is a powertrack with smoothing=30sec; Average selected track=299
Image
tndmbkr
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby rogerpgvg » Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:46 pm

OMB, I am trying to make some tracks that use time in hours, minutes and seconds and I was wondering whether you’d be interested in making some enhancements to CDT. As far as I know, you can’t calculate tracks that show h:min:sec. You can use seconds, but something like 8317 seconds is difficult to interpret. Would it be possible to add a predefined “Type” that is in h:min:sec?

In another track, I’d like to use a Custom Data Field that is in h:min:sec. But Custom Data Fields that have “elapsed time” as the unit do not show up in the list of Custom Data Fields that appear under “Activity” in CDT.

And finally (sorry, it’s getting long, but it will soon be Christmas, so I am putting my wish list together), would be possible to get the elapsed time without pauses under "Data points" (in secs is fine here)?

Thanks for considering!

Roger
rogerpgvg
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby old_man_biking » Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:55 am

Hi Roger,
sorry but for now I don't plan any enhancements like the ones you suggested.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby rogerpgvg » Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:09 am

No problem, thanks.
rogerpgvg
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby tndmbkr » Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:14 am

rogerpgvg wrote:.... I am trying to make some tracks that use time in hours, minutes and seconds .....

I do not know which tracks you want to examine in a chart.
But with Activity Documentation Plugin it is possible to create a chart with a Custom Data Track and elapsed time in hr min sec

Just create a new report
Component = Custom Data track
That is all
tndmbkr
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby rogerpgvg » Sat Nov 21, 2015 5:25 pm

Do you mean you can see elapsed time on the x-axis? I mean something different: I'd like to make a custom data track where the calculated variable (or track) is in h:min:sec, meaning that time is on the y-axis.
rogerpgvg
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby tndmbkr » Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:23 am

rogerpgvg wrote:Do you mean you can see elapsed time on the x-axis? ..........

Yes. That is what a chart is about

rogerpgvg wrote:......... I'd like to make a custom data track where the calculated variable (or track) is in h:min:sec, meaning that time is on the y-axis.

In that case I think of a correlation chart.
In a correlation chart you can choose your own X-axis and Y-axis.
Oct 2014 you wrote a very lightening contribution to this forum. At least it was for me.
In which you created a calculated track which you called “Distance"
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=16337#p85900

I have not tried.
But this line of thinking maybe a solution to your present problem
tndmbkr
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby daro2016 » Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:48 am

Hi
How can I use recursion expression for example epoc(t+1)=epo(t)c+..... ; Problem is because started Epoc don't have value
daro2016
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:51 am

Re: Custom Data Tracks plugin: Question

Postby old_man_biking » Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:37 am

daro2016 wrote:Hi
How can I use recursion expression for example epoc(t+1)=epo(t)c+..... ; Problem is because started Epoc don't have value


The current version doesn't yet support this, but it sounds like a good idea, so I'll add this to the plugin.
If you're interested in a beta version, send me a PM with you email address and I'll email you a beta version.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany


Return to Custom Data Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests