Training Analysis

by old_man_biking

Downloads: 2,939 (12) • Reviews: 3

Version:

3.0.5857

Updated:

Jan 14, 2016

Split and Join Error

Split and Join Error

Postby texmurphy » Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:37 am

I take any activity and split it to remove an unwanted section, or to move the end segment to the beginning with a time change, or I combine several different activities. This is done using Edit->Split and Edit->Join.

On the Edit->Join operation, Training Analysts will always complain with a must click pop-up. Otherwise ST hangs.
TA fails on Edit Join.jpg
TA fails on Edit Join.jpg (58.04 KiB) Viewed 8784 times


The Activity has no Lactate Track. I see no reason to bother me with this information, not that it has anything to do with what I want. This is a simple map edit operation.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby old_man_biking » Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:46 am

Ouch, seems that there is a bug that appears under exact 2 conditions:
1. the joined activities do NOT have lactate tracks (which should be true for 99.9% of all cases) and
2. you live in a time zone west of GMT

Will send you a beta that should fix this issue.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6766
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby texmurphy » Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:15 pm

The Developers Release appears to correct the Lactate Track error pop-up.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby texmurphy » Thu Oct 15, 2015 1:45 pm

I did several Splits and then did a multi-part Join. TA threw an info window which I did not capture about recalculating or something.
I pressed OK.
TA then threw the fault below. I was able to just keep working in ST3 without any problems. The Join'ed track appears to be correct with no issues.
Since ST does not allow correct Start time setting (only to nearest minute with seconds being somewhat random (I have requested several times an Enhancement to allow for start time setting in seconds!!!)), it could be an end and start issue between the joined segments.

Training Analysis Version 3.0.5637
TA Fault.jpg
Index out of Range Exception.
TA Fault.jpg (72.99 KiB) Viewed 8425 times
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby old_man_biking » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:16 am

Hhm, the interesting parts are cut off at the bottom of the window. The plugin should write the text onto Windows' clipboard, so you could paste it from there next time.
Can you reproduce this error? Can you provide an exported .fitlogex file of the activities that you've joined, when the error occured?

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6766
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby texmurphy » Sat Nov 21, 2015 5:10 pm

I have reproduced the Join fault.
You have mail.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby old_man_biking » Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:38 am

texmurphy wrote:I have reproduced the Join fault.
You have mail.

Hi texmurphy,

thanks a lot for the email with data. Alas, the .FITLOGEX files of the joined activities weren't include, so I don't have a chance to try and reproduce.
According to the log data you sent, the error just "cannot happen" - so something strange is happening inside of ST.

Questions:
Did you just manage to reproduce this ONCE?
Or does it occur whenever you try to join these 2 particular activities (which you obviously created by splitting one activity in two)?
If it can be reproduced 100%, please send me the exported .FITLOG files of the three activities (the original one and the two split parts that you try to join).
If not, I'll not dig into this.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6766
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby texmurphy » Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:38 am

I can reproduce at will, but the clue is what is selected to be joined.
A little more experimentation on how to invoke the fault:
The fault will not occur if the individual pieces are selected before the join.
The fault will occur if one selects the entire day’s activities to be joined.
I.e. select the day rather then the activities contained in the day. You can see this in the prior image I sent you LogbookHelper_ActivitiesJoined_2.jpg

I have emailed various extended fitlogs.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby old_man_biking » Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:47 am

Spot on! Yep, there's a bug in this case. I'll fix this for the next version. Btw, other plugins could suffer from the same issue.
The workaround is pretty clear: don't select the day item but rather all activities to be joined.

Thanks for revealing this issue and providing valuable help to reproduce and fix it.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6766
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Split and Join Error

Postby texmurphy » Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:07 pm

Developer release appears to correct the issue.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA


Return to Training Analysis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests