Garmin Fitness

by PissedOffCil

Downloads: 19,671 (29) • Reviews: 20

Version:

1.1.504

Updated:

Jan 11, 2013

FIXED: Export to Device Hangs

FIXED: Export to Device Hangs

Postby clackerz » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:34 pm

I've been trying to export a workout to my FR305, but every time I try to ST hangs.

It's not a normal hang - the hour glass appears as it attempts to send, but it doesn't appear to be doing anything, nor is it chewing resources. I just click the close button and it closes immediately, no errors, no force shutdown etc - I even get asked to save changes to the logbook if I've made any.
I've tried a few different workouts, and the device currently only has one simple workout - which was imported via GF a few days ago without any problems. I've even tried to create a new one since having this problem and the same occurs.
I cam import activities from the device to ST no probs as well.

I've even ensured the FR has the latest updates, and I've completed a full reset as well. Also tried all of my USB ports as well.

I've checked the GC plugin and I'm running the latest and it sees my device.

I'm running GF v.1.1.402

I know there probably isn't an issue with GF, but I'm at a loss as to how/why this would be happening all of sudden - do you have anything else I could try/check that would point me in the right direction?
Image
clackerz
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby clackerz » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:31 pm

I did the forbidden.....
I installed GTC (for the 1st time) and I was able to export a workout (one that I created using GF that I exported to the PC) to the device :x

Now I'm really confused as to what it could be...... :?:
Image
clackerz
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby PissedOffCil » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:41 am

GTC doesn't use the Communicator plugin for communication with devices. The probably use the USB protocol which is much more stable.

Could you reproduce the problem and send me the GF_Log.txt that you'll find in thep lugin's install directeory?

Thanks

P.S. You are forgiven ;)

clackerz wrote:I did the forbidden.....
I installed GTC (for the 1st time) and I was able to export a workout (one that I created using GF that I exported to the PC) to the device :x

Now I'm really confused as to what it could be...... :?:
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby clackerz » Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:31 pm

You have mail....
Image
clackerz
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby clackerz » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:14 pm

PissedOffCil wrote:GTC doesn't use the Communicator plugin for communication with devices. The probably use the USB protocol which is much more stable.


FYI.....I thought I'd do a quick test seeing as though GF uses the Communicator and attempted to import an activity from my FR305 using the communicator option, and it worked w/o a problem.
Image
clackerz
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby PissedOffCil » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:39 pm

clackerz wrote:
PissedOffCil wrote:GTC doesn't use the Communicator plugin for communication with devices. The probably use the USB protocol which is much more stable.


FYI.....I thought I'd do a quick test seeing as though GF uses the Communicator and attempted to import an activity from my FR305 using the communicator option, and it worked w/o a problem.


Mmmmmm
I hate this Communicator plugin!
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby clackerz » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:43 pm

As I said in the email....
It's now working after I uninstalled the GF plugin and re-installed.
Not sure what the issue was, or what caused the issue. It'll have to be put down to 'just-one-of-those-things'!!!!

I sent you an updated copy of the log-file in the email as well.
Image
clackerz
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby texmurphy » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:44 pm

Based on Clackerz's problem with his FR305, I powered up my old Edge 305 and had no problem using GF 1.1.403 to export and import workouts from the Edge 305.

poc : you have email
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Export to Device Hangs

Postby clackerz » Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:58 pm

texmurphy wrote:Based on Clackerz's problem with his FR305, I powered up my old Edge 305 and had no problem using GF 1.1.403 to export and import workouts from the Edge 305.

poc : you have email


I'm not sure if it was the FR. I could import activities using the communicator plugin.
I didn't have a chance to check with the Edge as I'm away on business.

I think something went wrong with a file, or something.....
Image
clackerz
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Garmin Fitness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests