Garmin Fitness

by PissedOffCil

Downloads: 19,798 (29) • Reviews: 20

Version:

1.1.504

Updated:

Jan 11, 2013

Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby skygod » Thu May 17, 2012 12:00 am

I cannot get the data from the 910 XT unit to Garmin Fitness.
Is there any setting to enable this import?

It works:
  • GF > 910 XT unit = OKAY
  • GF > 305 unit = OKAY
  • 305 unit > GF = OKAY
  • 910 XT > GF = FAIL
When using Garmins' S/W "Training Center" all four cases above works fine.
skygod
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Sweden, Lidingö

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby PissedOffCil » Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:06 pm

First of all, sorry for the VERY late reply, I seem to have stopped receiving new post notifications event though everything seems properly configured... I'll try to get this figured out.

As far as I know, the Communuicator plugin doesn't allow this operation for the 910XT as for all other devices that use the ANT USB stick. One alternative I could never get anybody to confirm was to import using the ANT Agent Sync folder (see here for path)
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby skygod » Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:29 am

I have tried to read the read the .FIT-files from 910 XT but Garmin Fitness displays an error message-box saying the file cannot be read.
- So it would be great if the GF also could be able to read these files.

I have had a look at the "transfer mechanism" of sending the files from the 910 XT to the PC:
- The Garmin Agent puts the files in the folder ...\workouts
- The unit (910 XT)) transfers the files if a workout is new or changed. So the unit keeps track of this internally.
- The synk seems to start within a minute after new/changed

The downside of this is that you will not be able to synk "older" workouts (without changing them). This is obvious if you have more then one PC or a new ST installation.
Attachments
20120918-084907-1-1328-ANTFS-5.FIT
Workout from 910 XT
(266 Bytes) Downloaded 205 times
skygod
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Sweden, Lidingö

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby PissedOffCil » Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:02 am

Hello,
Although the device does support this feature, the Communicator plugin reports otherwise which is annoying and I tried to get an explanation from Garmin without success. You can use the "From file" option to import your workouts however, I really have no other option at the moment but I am rethinking the file transfers for version 2.0.

Sorry fro the late reply.
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby skygod » Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:24 am

Yes, but the file cannot be imported.
With "from file" i guess you mean:
C:\Users\[user]\AppData\Roaming\GARMIN\Devices\[id]\Workouts (XP etc might loog different)

When trying to import the message (like) "An error appeared when importing...".

One FIT-file for you to try is also in the previous fortum message.
Attachments
gf_import_file_error.PNG
Import Error
gf_import_file_error.PNG (23.93 KiB) Viewed 8457 times
gf_import_dialog.PNG
Import dialog
gf_import_dialog.PNG (67.14 KiB) Viewed 8457 times
skygod
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Sweden, Lidingö

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby PissedOffCil » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:26 pm

Oh, I see. I'll check it out soon, that means once I get my new computer set up (the other gave up recently). I should get the parts tomorrow but chances are I'll be away for a couple of days afterwards as well as our child should see the day light in the upcoming days.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby PissedOffCil » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:06 am

Version 1.1.485 should work with the 910XT. It can be foudn here and I'll make a new official version when I get FIT scheduling working.

http://garminworkouts.googlecode.com/fi ... .st3plugin
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby skygod » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:54 pm

It seems to work to import/export, but new problems I have not seen before:

- When working in the GF it stops, and the ST3 has to be restarted (tried to attach the dump file could not)
- The width of the step workout-edit area is too narrow, cannot see all fields.
- May this did not work before(?), the categories are not mapped.

So the info can be transferred but the plugin as now is, not usable... I am afraid.
Attachments
ge_error2.PNG
ge_error2.PNG (22.11 KiB) Viewed 8432 times
edit_step.PNG
Width wrong
edit_step.PNG (15.2 KiB) Viewed 8432 times
skygod
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Sweden, Lidingö

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby PissedOffCil » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:23 pm

I'm not having this problem at home, can you open the "Information" panel and post it's content please?
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby skygod » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:54 pm

The width
After some more testing back and forth, the width of this step input area changed to normal(!).

The error
Maybe the error have something to do with the width problem? The error (app stop working) has not appeared after the width turned to normal.
This is the dump:
http://db.tt/B8NtZuJj
Attachments
edit_step_normal.gif
Normal width
edit_step_normal.gif (8.3 KiB) Viewed 8426 times
skygod
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Sweden, Lidingö

Re: Garmin Fitness - Import from 910 XT Fail

Postby PissedOffCil » Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:54 am

Actually it was the steps list that was craching for an unknown reason. The rest of the interface probably frozee becauseof the crash.

I'm glad everything is fixed, I'll post a new version when I get the scheduling working.
Thanks

P.S. I thikn you already have your donation key but if it's not the case send me your e-mail by PM.
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada


Return to Garmin Fitness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests