Garmin Fitness

by PissedOffCil

Downloads: 19,671 (29) • Reviews: 20

Version:

1.1.504

Updated:

Jan 11, 2013

FR610 support?

FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:45 pm

I have been the happy user of Garmin Fitness plugin (GFp) with my 410. Worked as a charm.

Now I have switched to FR610 but unfortunately it doesn't seem to work with GFp? Is this extected, or I am I doing something wrong?
Currently I am using the same procedure with my FR610 as with my FR410:

1. Create workout in GFp
2. Highligt workout and select 'Export selected'
- ANT agent starts blinking
- Popup state 'Workouts have been succesfully exported'
- FR610 shows 'Transferring data'
3. I go into the watch menus and try to find the workout - but it is not there...

The alternative I use instead (which is not optimal):
a. Create workout in GFp
b. Export as file
c. Import file into Garmin Training Center (GTC)
d. Export from GTC to FR610
Succes...
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby jabdah » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:58 pm

Hi Martin,

I played around with my 610.

Direct connection via ant agent isn't possible.
But you can export as a file to the 'ant agent directory' (for me it is C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\GARMIN\Devices\xxxxxxx and here in folder Workouts as tcx-file.

Now the workout is transfered with the ant agent but without gtc.

best regards
Oliver

Sorry for my bad english - I'm german ;)
jabdah
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: FR610 support?

Postby jabdah » Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:08 pm

Exporting workouts is Ok to the folder in the ant agent, but there are problems with the schedule.
The schedules aren't correct assigned to the workout. Sometimes a schedule isn't assigne to any workout and you can't edit the scheduled workout.
With GTC all is working fine.
Will try a little bit to find the difference between the tcx-files.
jabdah
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: FR610 support?

Postby jabdah » Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:51 pm

@PissedOffCil:
The bold part is required for the schedule working with the fileexport to the ant agent folder.
Hope it will help to solve the schedule transfer.
I don't know what the unitid is. It's not from my device.
While testing it worked with every 10 digit number.

<ScheduledOn>2011-06-17</ScheduledOn>
<Creator xsi:type="Device_t">
<Name></Name>
<UnitId>1234567890</UnitId>
<ProductID>0</ProductID>
<Version>
<VersionMajor>0</VersionMajor>
<VersionMinor>0</VersionMinor>
<BuildMajor>0</BuildMajor>
<BuildMinor>0</BuildMinor>
</Version>
</Creator>

</Workout>
</Workouts>
</TrainingCenterDatabase>
jabdah
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:56 am

@ Jabdah

Good input! I hope this is resolved one way or the other. Having to go back to GTC would be very annoying.
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:02 am

Hello folks,
I'm sorry I missed this message/bug report this weekend. I'm surprised this doesn't work on the 610XT as I believe all other devices that use the Ant Agent work properly. Or at least I never heard of a problem.

One way or another, it's an easy fix. Does your solution (jabdah) also fix the export to device or only whe4n exporting to file in the Ant Agent folder?

Thanks both for the heads up, you can PM me your e-mail for your donation key.
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:10 pm

Added & approved by jabdah in 1.1.440
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:10 am

Hi POC,

Still cannot get it to work. Names and (more importantly) pace do not transfer correctly...

I have made a few (not to complicated) workouts in ST3 using your latest build. When I transfer via ST3 I get the wrong data on the FR610. If I export as file from ST3, import into GTC, and then export to FR610 then I get the right names and paces on the FR610.

Update: Now it doesn't transfer at all from ST3 to FR610 (GTC still works).

Best
Martin
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:00 pm

Could you elaborate a bit?
What's wrong with the names?
What's wrong with the paces?

The file and device export send the exact same thing (XML) to the watch/file so maybe you are changing teh category when importing in GTC?
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:15 pm

PissedOffCil wrote:Could you elaborate a bit?
What's wrong with the names?
What's wrong with the paces?

The file and device export send the exact same thing (XML) to the watch/file so maybe you are changing teh category when importing in GTC?


Sorry for the very very late reply - been busy running :-)

It is har to elborate much because not much happens; but here goes:

I create the workout in Garmin Fitness (GF)
I press export selected -> to device
I choose Forerunner 610 (My wife has my old FR410 on the same computer - Maybe that is the problem!!!)
I get message "Workouts have been succesfully exported"
My FR610 shows "transferring data" for ~1 sec, then "receiving data" for ½ sec. Then jumps to show the watch page which shows time.

When I check under "training"/"workouts" nothing is present...

PS: My watch is set to Danish language and some of the messages I describe above my be slightly different.
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:38 pm

Start by trying to empty the ANT Agent folder.

See here for the location of the folder to remove. Empty all files in Workouts & History folders.
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:49 am

PissedOffCil wrote:Start by trying to empty the ANT Agent folder.

See here for the location of the folder to remove. Empty all files in Workouts & History folders.


Ok - the problem is definately visible when looking in the workout-folder. I created two identical workouts in GTC and ST3. One I called 'GTC' and the other 'G Fitness'. I emptied the folder and transfered the two workouts.

The GTC workout, transferred via GTC quickly shows up in the folder as a TCX file with name 'GTC'. Then Garmin Ant Agent systray icon starts blinking and the workout is transferred to the watch. Also it changes to a FIT file called '19891231-040949-1-0-ANTFS-5' in workout folder.

The G Fitness file also goes into the workout folder as a TCX file. The systray icons starts blinking and the watch says data transferred (however it dissapears again much quicker than when transferring via GTC). No data is transferred. Now the FIT file has name '19891231-040949-1-0-ANTFS-5'.

does it make sense?
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:24 pm

The problem is therefore with the ANT Agent. For some reason he doesn't like my TCX file although the Garmin Communicator plugin does... As you can now testify, Garmin software is great!!!!

Do you think you could be quick enough (or find a way) to save both TCX files before they get transferred (the one from GTC and the one from the plugin) and post them here?
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:41 am

PissedOffCil wrote:The problem is therefore with the ANT Agent. For some reason he doesn't like my TCX file although the Garmin Communicator plugin does... As you can now testify, Garmin software is great!!!!

Do you think you could be quick enough (or find a way) to save both TCX files before they get transferred (the one from GTC and the one from the plugin) and post them here?


Off course - I will do (almost) anything to get this plugin to work!

http://www.4shared.com/file/9ULRs6rz/TCX.html
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:18 pm

I'll have a look when I get a chance.
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Fri Sep 09, 2011 7:40 am

I might have a clue.
My plugin exports the workout as sport "Other", whereas GTC exports it as "Running". Maybe the 610XT only supports the "Running" sport and therefore the version submitted by my plugin fails to transfer using the ANT agent.

Can you configure the plugin to export the workout as "Running" and try again?? See here for details : http://code.google.com/p/garminworkouts ... categories

Thanks
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby martin.gudmand » Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:16 pm

Right on the money! Works like a charm after changing from 'other' to 'running'.

Thanks a lot for great plugin and support!!!

FYI: I changed the setting for the parent category.
martin.gudmand
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:28 am

Great we figured it out. Send me a PM with your e-mail, I'll send you a donation key.

It's a shame Garmin doesn't document such limitations. Maybe I should modify the configuration wizard so that it asks the device that's being used and automatically sets certain settings!
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby marcio.mg » Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:02 pm


I create the workout in Garmin Fitness (GF)
I press export selected -> to device
I get message "Workouts have been succesfully exported"
My FR610 shows "transferring data" for ~1 sec, then "receiving data" for ½ sec. Then jumps to show the watch page which shows time.

When I check under "training"/"workouts" nothing is present...



I'm having the same problem with my FR 610, and already tried change the Workout categories from "Other" to "Running". The FR610 shows very quicly the "tranfering data" and " receiving data" messages and goes to the Time page, but the workout is not in the watch.
Exporting the workout in TCX file and using Garmin Training Center I can send to the watch normaly.

One thing that caught my attention is when Garmin Training Center send the same workout, the Ant Agent show the Message "User Profile, Workouts" and the watch show the messages "Tranferring data" and "Receiving data" for about 5 seconds.

Tks...
marcio.mg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:28 am

What does your workout contain? Can you post the file here?


marcio.mg wrote:

I create the workout in Garmin Fitness (GF)
I press export selected -> to device
I get message "Workouts have been succesfully exported"
My FR610 shows "transferring data" for ~1 sec, then "receiving data" for ½ sec. Then jumps to show the watch page which shows time.

When I check under "training"/"workouts" nothing is present...



I'm having the same problem with my FR 610, and already tried change the Workout categories from "Other" to "Running". The FR610 shows very quicly the "tranfering data" and " receiving data" messages and goes to the Time page, but the workout is not in the watch.
Exporting the workout in TCX file and using Garmin Training Center I can send to the watch normaly.

One thing that caught my attention is when Garmin Training Center send the same workout, the Ant Agent show the Message "User Profile, Workouts" and the watch show the messages "Tranferring data" and "Receiving data" for about 5 seconds.

Tks...
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby marcio.mg » Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:29 am

PissedOffCil wrote:What does your workout contain? Can you post the file here?


Sure...

Unfortunately I can't send any workout to the FR610 by Garmin Fitness.

I will do this workout tomorrow , and I have created and exported from Garmin Fitness to Garmin Training Center.

Tks.
Attachments
Tuesday.tcx
Garmin Fitness Workout
(3.18 KiB) Downloaded 169 times
marcio.mg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:05 pm

Nothing looks out of place, could you also post the GTC version of the workout as sent to your device (See above to get the file before it gets synched to your device)?
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby marcio.mg » Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:04 pm

Here is GTC workout in .TCX format file: http://www.4shared.com/file/g8VOcTkb/Tuesday_GTC.html
This file changed to a .Fit file after it goes to the watch.

The workout sent by Garmin fitness already appears directly in the format .Fit in the \workouts folder.

Tks.
marcio.mg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: FR610 support?

Postby PissedOffCil » Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:23 pm

Ah ok so maybe the problem is with the FIT file because nothing seems out of place within the TCX file. I didn't know the 610 supported FIT files but if it exports as FIT, then the device advertises that it supports it... Maybe the ANT Agent doesn't however. Do you have the latest versions of the plugin, Communicator and Ant Agent installed?

Did you try exporting directly to a TCX file in the ANT Agent sync folder?
Developer of the Garmin Fitness, Filtered Statistics and Distribution plugins
PissedOffCil
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Chicoutimi, Qc, Canada

Re: FR610 support?

Postby marcio.mg » Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:13 pm

Today I tried to export the Garmin Fitness .TCX file in the ANT Agent sync folder. The workout was send to the watch perfecly.. :D

Right now, I'm using the Garmin Communicator Plugin 3.0.1, and the Ant Agent 2.3.2. Both are last version until today...

I got some pictures of the Ant Agent Screen during transfer of the workout to the watch.

This first screenshot is from Ant Agent when I try send a Workout by the Garmin Fitness. Look that the Ant Agent see the Data as "FitData".
Image

This second screenshot is from Ant Agent when I export a TCX file to the Ant Agent sync folder. Look that the Ant Agent see the data as "Exercícios" (workouts in portuguese).
Image

And this third and last screenshot is from Ant Agent when I send the workout by Garmin Training Center. You can see that the Ant Agent see the data as "Ecercícios"(workouts in portuguese) too, like when I export the TCX file to the Ant Agent Sync Folder.
Image

So, what called my attention is the fact that when I export the workout to the device by the Garmin Fitness, the Ant Agent see the file instantly as a Fit file, and even the FR610 supporting .Fit files it don't support for wokouts.

But my question is why the Ant Agent is transforming the Garmin Fitness TCX file in a Fit data.

From today I will export the workout to a TCX file to the Ant Agent folder...
Tks
marcio.mg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:01 pm

Next

Return to Garmin Fitness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests