Page 1 of 1

Another FTP upload error

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:55 am
by Frieder Tonn
The upload from the Activity Documentation and Reporting plugin was working fine for a long time.
Now I get the following error-message (the setup was unchanged):

Image

What is the reason - IPV6? Many thanks for your help.

Regards,
Frieder

Re: Another FTP upload error

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2018 11:17 am
by old_man_biking
Yes, this looks like an IPV6 address. It might be that the hostname, which you've configured for your ftp server was previously resolved to an IPV4 address and is now resolved to am IPV6 address.
Cheers,
OMB

Re: Another FTP upload error

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:21 am
by Frieder Tonn
Hello OMB,

that means, that the plugin only can bring up IPV4 Connections. Thats right?
The ftp-hostname is ftp.strato.com, I think, thats very common.

Frieder

Re: Another FTP upload error

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:28 am
by old_man_biking
Frieder Tonn wrote:Hello OMB,

that means, that the plugin only can bring up IPV4 Connections. Thats right?
The ftp-hostname is ftp.strato.com, I think, thats very common.

Frieder

The plugin is built upon .NET V2.0, so it basically supports IPv6. However, in order to let an application successfully use IPv6, several prerequisites must be fulfilled:
your Internet Service Provider must provide IPv6 support, your Internet router must support it and needs to be properly configured, you must have enabled IPv6 in the protocl stack of your network adapter in the Windows network configuration, you must have enabled IPv6 support for .NET (see https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... bling-ipv6). If you don't know exactly what you're doing, you might mess up things - not only for the AD plugin but possibly for your Windows installation. So I do not encourage you to do this. And I cannot and will not provide any support for this venture.
You should better stay with IPv4. When I do a "nslookup ftp.strato.com", I get IPv4 address 81.169.145.47 . So your can use this in the AD plugin configuration instead of ftp.strato.com. It's rather unlikely that Strato changes the IP address of their FTP server frequently.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Another FTP upload error

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:40 am
by Frieder Tonn
Hello OMB,

I tried to use 81.169.145.47 instead of ftp.strato.com but I got exactly the same error-message (see above).
I tried it in 3 different networks with different routers.
So I have changed the ftp-server. Now it is gmxhome.de and it works fine.
Thank you very much for your help.

Regards,
Frieder