Page 1 of 1

Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:00 am
by Daniel Westergren
I haven't always used my HRM strap with my Garmin 610. I enter an estimated TRIMP for those activities, but whenever I save the logbook or recalculate TRIMP or logbook, those values I entered disappear and the graph becomes wrong again... I tried both entering a value in the custom data field and as TRIMP: xxx in the notes.

Should it work that way? I mean, there must be many cases when people want to add workouts that don't have heart rate, for CTL, ATL and TSB to be more accurate.

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:28 pm
by texmurphy
texmurphy wrote:http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/sporttracks/forums/viewtopic.php?p=90100#p90100
You can enter manual Trimp and TSS for an activity. These are in Custom Data Fields. Select the Custom Data Fields screen for your activity and enter your estimate of Trimp there.
You could also enter these on the Notes section of the activity Summary screen by:
Trimp=xxx
TSS=xxx


I think that Trimp:xxx might work as well as "=", so my thought is that you maybe did not save logbook somehow after entering the data.
I have done this several times, especially when on vacation for TSS without a pm.

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:20 pm
by tndmbkr
Once I encountered same problem as Daniel.
Ever since then I create a Data Track for my HR, or Power.
Works flawless.


Edit
Data Tracks
HR
+
etc

It is not necessary your data track has the same timestamp as your activity.

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:11 pm
by Daniel Westergren
tndmbkr wrote:Once I encountered same problem as Daniel.
Ever since then I create a Data Track for my HR, or Power.
Works flawless.


Edit
Data Tracks
HR
+
etc

It is not necessary your data track has the same timestamp as your activity.


You mean you enter an estimated HR manually? Or you create a custom data track? As a new ST3 user I'm still trying to familiarize myself with the unintuitive interface and sometimes confusing terms :)

As for Trimp:xxx etc. in the Notes. When should I notice a TRIMP value for that activity in Training Load? I try to click Calculate->Trimp and Calculate->Logbook. Both set my Trimp for that activity to 0.

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:42 pm
by texmurphy
Daniel Westergren wrote:...As for Trimp:xxx etc. in the Notes. When should I notice a TRIMP value for that activity in Training Load? I try to click Calculate->Trimp and Calculate->Logbook. Both set my Trimp for that activity to 0.

See if Trimp=xxx works better than Trimp:xxx
Trimp/TSS values will often not show except by Close/Save ST3 and then restart ST3 when they are calculated on logbook open.

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:29 am
by Daniel Westergren
No matter what I write in the note field, the Trimp is always set to 0 for activities without a HR track... And to add a HR data track to tweak an estimated Trimp seems not to be an ideal workaround.

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:01 pm
by dirk66
Hi,

I use TRIMP=0000 without any problems. It has to be in capitals with the = and 4 digits.

Regards,
Dirk

Re: Manually entered TRIMP disappears on save or recalculate

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:16 am
by Stumpjumper68
I create a manual hr track. If my average is 140 I start the track @120 and end it @ 160. Therefore I get better TRIMP calculation. It takes only a few seconds to do so.