Training Load

by mechgt

Downloads: 12,931 (48) • Reviews: 18

Version:

2.0.7

Updated:

Aug 26, 2015

Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Postby ACDC » Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:54 am

I will shortly be training with power(pending Royal Mail delivery :D ) having used heart rate for the last few years. What will happen to my performance management chart when I switch to using TSS? Will I be effectively starting from scratch or can I use TRIMP/TSS concurrently to monitor my training load? :?

Thanks
ACDC
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:44 am

Re: Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Postby tndmbkr » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:45 am

You will have to start from scratch.
Because you do not have any previous data.
And it will take 45 long days before you have a CTL which is established by your own recording device

But you can let your charts start with a value other than zero.
Settings. Upper left corner, you can set an initial value for ATL and CTL
But I do not know whether this will also affect your TRIMP chart.

In order to establish an initial value, you may consider using a plugin that calculates a powertrack for you, for past activities.
You can also create simple power datatracks (Edit Data Tracks; just a straight line is fine) which provides you a TSSvalue which is in accordance to your capabilities.

PS; Have you already established your FTPcycle?
The plugun cannot calculate your TSS without FTP
tndmbkr
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Postby texmurphy » Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:44 pm

You can always manually enter 45 days of TSS once you have power, assuming your new workouts are similar to prior. Otherwise it might be tough to estimate TSS.
Enter TSS=xxx on the Notes section of the activity Summary screen.
omb's GPS2PowerTrack plugin might also provide you with an estimate of your non-power recorded workouts.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Postby ACDC » Sun Mar 06, 2016 4:53 am

Thanks for the replies, pretty much as I expected :? Could I still continue to use the TRIMP display on my chart and then switch to TSS later and recalculate/update my logbook when I've collected enough power data?
ACDC
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:44 am

Re: Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Postby texmurphy » Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:44 am

You can switch between TRIMP and TSS by hitting the upper right menu triangle at any time.
To keep a consistent TRIMP you would need to continue to record heartrate.

In general TRIMP vs TSS will yield different curves, since they are different measures of fitness.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Switching from TRIMP to TSS

Postby ACDC » Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:37 pm

In that case then I will still record HR data, and use the TRIMP chart until I have collected enough power data so that I can switch to the TSS chart :)
ACDC
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:44 am


Return to Training Load

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron