Page 1 of 1

Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:37 am
by texmurphy
I take any activity and split it to remove an unwanted section, or to move the end segment to the beginning with a time change, or I combine several different activities. This is done using Edit->Split and Edit->Join.

On the Edit->Join operation, Training Analysts will always complain with a must click pop-up. Otherwise ST hangs.
TA fails on Edit Join.jpg
TA fails on Edit Join.jpg (58.04 KiB) Viewed 8716 times


The Activity has no Lactate Track. I see no reason to bother me with this information, not that it has anything to do with what I want. This is a simple map edit operation.

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:46 am
by old_man_biking
Ouch, seems that there is a bug that appears under exact 2 conditions:
1. the joined activities do NOT have lactate tracks (which should be true for 99.9% of all cases) and
2. you live in a time zone west of GMT

Will send you a beta that should fix this issue.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:15 pm
by texmurphy
The Developers Release appears to correct the Lactate Track error pop-up.

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 1:45 pm
by texmurphy
I did several Splits and then did a multi-part Join. TA threw an info window which I did not capture about recalculating or something.
I pressed OK.
TA then threw the fault below. I was able to just keep working in ST3 without any problems. The Join'ed track appears to be correct with no issues.
Since ST does not allow correct Start time setting (only to nearest minute with seconds being somewhat random (I have requested several times an Enhancement to allow for start time setting in seconds!!!)), it could be an end and start issue between the joined segments.

Training Analysis Version 3.0.5637
TA Fault.jpg
Index out of Range Exception.
TA Fault.jpg (72.99 KiB) Viewed 8357 times

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:16 am
by old_man_biking
Hhm, the interesting parts are cut off at the bottom of the window. The plugin should write the text onto Windows' clipboard, so you could paste it from there next time.
Can you reproduce this error? Can you provide an exported .fitlogex file of the activities that you've joined, when the error occured?

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 5:10 pm
by texmurphy
I have reproduced the Join fault.
You have mail.

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:38 am
by old_man_biking
texmurphy wrote:I have reproduced the Join fault.
You have mail.

Hi texmurphy,

thanks a lot for the email with data. Alas, the .FITLOGEX files of the joined activities weren't include, so I don't have a chance to try and reproduce.
According to the log data you sent, the error just "cannot happen" - so something strange is happening inside of ST.

Questions:
Did you just manage to reproduce this ONCE?
Or does it occur whenever you try to join these 2 particular activities (which you obviously created by splitting one activity in two)?
If it can be reproduced 100%, please send me the exported .FITLOG files of the three activities (the original one and the two split parts that you try to join).
If not, I'll not dig into this.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:38 am
by texmurphy
I can reproduce at will, but the clue is what is selected to be joined.
A little more experimentation on how to invoke the fault:
The fault will not occur if the individual pieces are selected before the join.
The fault will occur if one selects the entire day’s activities to be joined.
I.e. select the day rather then the activities contained in the day. You can see this in the prior image I sent you LogbookHelper_ActivitiesJoined_2.jpg

I have emailed various extended fitlogs.

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:47 am
by old_man_biking
Spot on! Yep, there's a bug in this case. I'll fix this for the next version. Btw, other plugins could suffer from the same issue.
The workaround is pretty clear: don't select the day item but rather all activities to be joined.

Thanks for revealing this issue and providing valuable help to reproduce and fix it.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Split and Join Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:07 pm
by texmurphy
Developer release appears to correct the issue.