Page 7 of 13

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:18 am
by old_man_biking
Hhm, when you use "Edit:Pool Swimming:Change pool size" to set the pool length to meters, the pace should be displayed as min/100m.
Must have a look.

You could try to use the Garmin FIT Devices plugin to import the swims. It automatically imports the pool length that you had set in your Garmin device. This lets Pool Swimming Plugin use the correct pool length and unit.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:35 am
by oliverbird
Thanks for the prompt reply! I have just finished reading the back catalog of posts and realised that the Garmin FIT plugin might fix it, but also assumed that given you had put the capability in to change pool length then it would make sense to change pace units also.

Are there other advantages to your FIT plugin, as I do find that generally the default FIT import process works fine for my runs, rides etc.?

Edited: OK, I see your extra features at http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/sporttracks/plugins/?p=garmin-fit-devices

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:42 am
by pacaldi
Take a look please, i have installed the plug-in but i can's see the Pool Swimming choise in the menu...

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:26 am
by old_man_biking
This entry only appears, when you have selected an activity with pool swimming data.
And of course the plugin must be installed and enabled in "Settings:Plugins".
And you must use a current version of ST.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:45 pm
by pacaldi
Thank you for your reply.

The version of ST3 is: 3.1.4518 latest
The plugin is obviously activated
This is how i import the file of my Garmin Swim, is correct?

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:07 pm
by fourbeer
You need to select the yellow folder icon to the left and find the .fit file that has your swim workout.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 6:13 pm
by old_man_biking
Please follow the import instructions here: http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/sporttr ... min-import
halfway down that page, section "ANT Devices Synched to PC wirelessly",
in step no. 5 open the "Activities" subfolder instead of "History",
and select the .FIT file(s) you want to import.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:31 am
by pacaldi
Thank you again but does not work... The file is imported but is not recognized as swimming.
Can you check please? I have attached the file

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:25 am
by old_man_biking
Pls read my previous post. I said .fit, not .tcx file.
.tcx files cannot hold poolswimming data.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:33 am
by pacaldi
I knew it, I read it. I attach files FIT in the FIT folder...
ST3:"Import completed successfully but no data available"

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:43 am
by old_man_biking
And I said "Activities" subfolder.
Your attached files are NOT from there.
Goodness :)

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:55 pm
by pacaldi
Thank you for you patience you're right!!!
I attach files FIT in the "Activities" folder but the result is the same...

Thanks for your kind support

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:30 pm
by old_man_biking
This file is from a Garmin Swim Watch, right?
Obviously ST's standard .FIT file importer has a problem with files from this device.

Install Garmin FIT Devices Plugin ( http://zonefivesoftware.com/sporttracks ... it-devices ) to overcome this problem.
That plugin adds:
1. a 2nd importer for .FIT files - ST will offer you a choice of the std importer and the GFD importer after having selected a .FIT file for import
2. an import per device, which will make import even simpler. Click "Import", then select the watch symbol in the upper left, click on the "+" button in the upper right and select "Garmin Ant Agent(TM) ..." as device type)

I've successfully imported your file and displayed it with Pool Swimming Plugin. It has 8 lengths of freestyle and 4 lengths of backstroke.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:10 pm
by pacaldi
Ok thanks now with your plugin "Garmin Swim" have successfully imported data.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:18 pm
by prenard
Thanks for this great plugin !

Only one thing is missing: swim TSS value !

Could you implement this feature using this TrainingPeaks formula ?

http://home.trainingpeaks.com/articles/ ... score.aspx

Best regards

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:24 pm
by oliverbird
Hi, I am getting good use of the pool swimming plugin. Tonight I have had an odd result - I used my 910XT as usual, set it to Pool Swim, 25m and off I went. 60-odd freestyle and 60-odd breaststroke lengths later, I imported the FIT file into Sporttracks. The summary info seems about right but I have no individual length data, just summary data for each interval. Also, if I try to change the pool length from meters to yards in "Edit-Pool Swimming-Change Pool Length", it says in red text "Pool Length: Open Water!".

The watch was definitely recording in Pool mode with a 25m pool length (indeed the lengths for the session seem correct).

Any idea what is going wrong / differently to usual?

20130116-173211-1-1328-ANTFS-4-0.FIT
25m Pool Swim using 910XT
(15.54 KiB) Downloaded 275 times


Cheers!

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:04 pm
by old_man_biking
When I import your file with Garmin FIT Devices plugin, it displays well - including lengths.
When I import with ST's standard importer, the lengths are not displayed.

After some digging I found out what causes the problems:
* GFD plugin imports the pool length info that is present in the .FIT file
* ST's standard importer does not import that info and leaves it to the Pool Swimming plugin to guess the pool length
Pool Swimming plugin checks if all recorded lengths have identical distance. If it detects different distances, it assumes open water swimming.
Your .FIT file has recorded lengths which are NOT 25 meters. Don't know how your Garmin managed to do this.

EDIT: will add a fix to the next plugin version, so that these inconsistencies are tolerated.

Cheers,
OMB

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:25 pm
by oliverbird
Ah yes, I noticed that there was a single 82.02yd interval, which is 75m, instead of 50m - odd! The time looks right for 50m so guess it's a watch bug?

I'll take a look at the Garmin FIT plugin, cheers for looking into it.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:35 am
by oliverbird
Any chance of looking at the problem identified on Sept 29th, regarding the average pace units remaining as mins/100yds even after I change the pool length to meters? You mentioned you would take a look. Would be helpful if this was fixed - fingers crossed!

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:57 pm
by jjpopp
Again regarding the paused error - it shows on the drop down and not just for swimming. I don't see the swimming drop down option at all. It is install and enabled. perhaps it is the Garmin FIT plug in . Please seee attached.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:50 pm
by old_man_biking
I once again wasted my time looking at your fit files. Again they do NOT contain any swimming activities.
Please note: the "Pool Swimming" detail page is displayed for swimming activities only.

Please read the user manual of your Garmin device to learn how to set it to pool swimming mode.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:22 am
by Tisztul_A_Visztula
OMB, what is the algorithm to define whether a lap/interval is swimming one or rest one?
Does your plugin simply say the the first and all the uneven laps are swimming intervals and the second and all the even ones are resting intervals?
Or do you use a different method and the plugin is hunting for more data like strokes to identify whether it is a resting interval or not?

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:34 am
by jjpopp
As I said it ddisplays paused provided by garmin fit plugin. Please the file I previouly posted. And btw it is not very professional to hassle your customers. Yes I know my garmin. I also didn't swim in a bathtop. After additional looks by me I ndont get swimming plug displayed at all for every workout I get the dropdown showing paused provided by garmin fit plugin thus why I attached other workouts not just swimming

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:17 pm
by old_man_biking
Please try uploading your .FIT files to Garmin Connect.
If and when one of your activities is properly displayed as a Pool Swimming activity in Garmin Connect, and you still don't see the "Pool Swimming" detail page I will happily provide further assistance.

Until then I won't answer any more of your support requests.
And may I suggest, that you don't comment on my "professionalism" - and I won't comment on yours.

Re: Pool Swimming plugin

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:02 pm
by Tisztul_A_Visztula
Tisztul_A_Visztula wrote:OMB, what is the algorithm to define whether a lap/interval is swimming one or rest one?
Does your plugin simply say the the first and all the uneven laps are swimming intervals and the second and all the even ones are resting intervals?
Or do you use a different method and the plugin is hunting for more data like strokes to identify whether it is a resting interval or not?


Closed