Page 1 of 1

[ST3] Map trackpoint selection Fails

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:05 pm
by texmurphy
I find with the release of ST3.1.6625(?) and in 3.1.6690, selecting a section of the trackpoints using the mouse click and drag in Explore no longer holds the selected route section using any of the google map types. Using None or OpenStreetMap allows the selection to be retained.

1. In Explore mode on the map panel with a google map (e.g. Street/Terrain/Satellite), select a gps trackpoint and then holding the mouse select a section of the track. It will show as selected with map title summary of the distance, etc. Release the mouse button and move the mouse off the track. The selection is unselected.

2. Using OpenStreetMap (e.g. Mapnik/CycleMap) repeat the selection, move the mouse away and the selection is retained. The selection is still retained even if you switch back to a google map.

This selection is very useful for distance/time/elevation measurement, for Trails Plugin selection, and to select a section for deletion in Edit mode.

Re: Map trackpoint selection Fails

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:57 am
by admin
Wow, it's been probably - maybe 10 years since the mapping code was touched, so this is probably related to a google map api behavior change, which checks out since the non-gmap version it working. I'll refile this as a bug if we have another update in the future. Meanwhile, you can select a range on the workout by clicking and dragging on the chart and adjust your selection by clicking and dragging the ends of the selection in the chart. I believe the visual selection changes are updated in the map display, so you can calibrate where on the route the selection starts and ends.

Re: [ST3] Map trackpoint selection Fails

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:35 am
by texmurphy
Likely is a google map api problem as the selection error is transient - some days it works fine, other days it does not!
The day I posted the problem it was a solid failure day.