Waypoint and Courses

by old_man_biking

Downloads: 1,161 (12) • Reviews: 4

Version:

3.0.5401

Updated:

Oct 15, 2014

Course Points - Error with Pauses

Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby dbrillha » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:21 am

Here is a screen shot showing a strange problem when I add a "pause" to a course point. When I add a pause, it changes the location on the course of the other course points. In the graphic shown below, I add a 2 minute pause to the first WATER point, and a 5 minute pause to the last WATER point. Each time I add a pause, the location of the course points are all recalculated and change. Obviously, course points should stay at the point on the course where they were set.

Am I doing something wrong, or is this a bug?

Thanks!

http://brillharts.com/CoursePoints.gif
Attachments
test.zip
(19.4 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
Last edited by dbrillha on Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dbrillha
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby old_man_biking » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:36 am

Could you pleaase export the course (WITHOUT pauses) to a TCX file, zip and attach to your post.
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5984
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby dbrillha » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:58 am

The ZIP file is here. I can't find how to add a ZIP file to this message board.

http://brillharts.com/test.zip

[EDITED: found how to add attachment... added ZIP file to my original note]

In the ZIP file, you'll find a TCX file. I tested the process and it is repeatable on my system. Load the TCX. It'll add the route to daily view. I then went to that day, and told ST to "make a course" from the event. I then went to COURSE view. It was there, and had 22 course points added automatically for turns (with no pauses). I then picked course point #10 to edit, and added a 10 minute pause to that point. The preceding course points all changed.

If you need more info, please let me know.
dbrillha
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby old_man_biking » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:39 am

I cannot reproduce that. Works like a charm.
But I might not exactly YOUR course data.
Could you please export the COURSE, not the activity:
Courses view: Export : Export to File
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5984
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby dbrillha » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:59 am

I've attached the ZIP file of the Courses TCX file. See the Graphic. It is clear now what is going on... When I simply add a 10 minute pause to Course Point #10, the code actually adds the 10 minutes to all the course points. At a "constant speed" of 5.7 mph (10:30 min/mile), it then recalculates the distance where those course points are located based on the new "time" (added 10 minutes), and the constant speed. At least it seems that way from the data.

It is also strange that the "time" of Course Point #10 isn't updated. But all the others have 10 minutes added. Almost like the logic was reverse... add 10 minutes to all except the one I added the pause to.

You should see an image in-line, and a file attached.

I did find out that course point "pauses" don't do anything on my Forerunner 305, so I won't be using Pauses in the future. So I have no need for this to be fixed. But you might want to look into it anyway in case this really is a logic error. Thanks OMB!!

Image
Attachments
Courses_Test.zip
(19.65 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
dbrillha
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby old_man_biking » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:15 am

Arghh, now I can at least reproduce that.
There are 2 ways to set the pause:
1. Select course point -> details appear below course point list -> edit there
2. Select course point -> right mouse click, edit -> edit there
1. works well, 2. does not

Right??

EDIT: found and fixed that bug for the next version.
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5984
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby dbrillha » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:37 am

Right. Thanks OMB!! Do you ever sleep!? :-)
dbrillha
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby old_man_biking » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:15 am

Hardly - my code bugs keep my sleepless so often :cry:
But it would be an after-lunch nap now anyway, as I live in central europe :lol: :lol:
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5984
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby old_man_biking » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:38 pm

I've released a new version of the Waypoints and Courses plugin earlier today that should fix this bug.
@dbrillha: Would you be so kind and give it a try.
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5984
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Course Points - Error with Pauses

Postby dbrillha » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:16 pm

Works perfectly now! Thanks OMB!! Your plug-ins, and your support, are fantastic! Have a great Christmas!! Cheers.
dbrillha
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:23 pm


Return to Waypoint and Courses

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest