Waypoint and Courses

by old_man_biking

Downloads: 1,161 (12) • Reviews: 4

Version:

3.0.5241

Updated:

May 8, 2014

Trouble Making Waypoints

Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby like-to-tri » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:13 pm

I have not been successful at creating a new Waypoint using this plugin and following the instructions from the manual. Here's what I attempt:

1) Under Other Tasks, I click on Select View->Waypoints
2) Click on Create Waypoint->... on the Map
After doing this, a yellow flag icon is displayed on the map, but any movement of the mouse cursor (as to start to move it toward the map), the flag disappears and clicking has no effect with adding a waypoint. I also tried with under different map views (satellite vs terrain) but got the same results.

Actually, my original goal was to just export waypoint information into SportTracks from my Garmin 310XT. However, after doing some reading, it seems like the 310XT doesn't have an easy way to export waypoint information, so I decided to just try to create them manually.

Here's my system info:

OS: Windows XP SP 3
SportTracks: 3.0.4147
Waypoints and Courses Plugin: 3.0.4114
like-to-tri
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby texmurphy » Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:18 pm

Sometimes the TrackColoring Plugin gets in the way (at least with my configuration).
However try this:
1. Change map from Explore to Waypoints
2. Click Create Waypoint
3. Position yellow marker on map
4. Fill in the waypoint dialogue.
Attachments
Create Waypoint.jpg
Create Waypoint.jpg (185.51 KiB) Viewed 1227 times
User avatar
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby like-to-tri » Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:37 pm

How is this different from what I'm doing? The only thing that might be different is "Change map from Explore to Waypoints". Is that different from starting in the Activity View and clicking on Other Tasks->Select View-->Waypoints? If it is, how do you do that? Here's what the screen looks like just before moving the mouse cursor--which makes the flag icon disappear:

Screen shot 2011-07-31 at 11.31.07 AM.gif
Screen shot 2011-07-31 at 11.31.07 AM.gif (126.69 KiB) Viewed 1225 times
like-to-tri
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby texmurphy » Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:48 pm

like-to-tri wrote:...If it is, how do you do that?...

Click on the "Explore" and select "Waypoints"
Image
User avatar
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby like-to-tri » Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:08 pm

Ah, that worked! Thanks!

However, I'd think the other way of doing it should also work is a bug that should be fixed.
like-to-tri
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby old_man_biking » Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:40 am

I cannot reproduce this "bug". It works like a charm on my PC.
Anyone with similar observations as like-to-tri ??
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby ARI » Tue Sep 13, 2011 3:33 pm

Hello, i just try te reproduce and i get something similar.
But, when i move the mousse in the map aera, the flag follow the pointer. If i get out an re enter in the map aera, no more waipoint icon.

regards
ARI
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Leforest, France

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby old_man_biking » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:37 pm

ARI wrote:Hello, i just try te reproduce and i get something similar.
But, when i move the mousse in the map aera, the flag follow the pointer. If i get out an re enter in the map aera, no more waipoint icon.

regards


Exactly. This is how it works.
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby ARI » Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:23 am

yes, but in my case, i click directly on the buton "créer un waipoint" and not drop it down to select a type of waypoint.
this create an "interogation mark" marker in the middle of the map.
but, since tho mouse is on the button, the map aera never get the focus yet ; and when entering the map aera for the first time , the marker didn't follow mouse.

did you confirm this way ?

regards
ARI
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Leforest, France

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby old_man_biking » Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:59 am

I cannot reproduce this.
On my PC it works like designed: when you click the button, the mouse cursor jumps to the center of the map and the selected (yellow backgrounded) waypoint icon follows the cursor.
I tried with Google map and OSM map (ST handles the two differently).
I even tried in French language setting :)
:?: :?:
User avatar
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Trouble Making Waypoints

Postby ARI » Wed Sep 14, 2011 4:18 am

OK, so the only difference is that my mouse cursor didn't jump .
Never mind, it's not a big issue for me...

by
ARI
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Leforest, France


Return to Waypoint and Courses

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests