Elevation Correction

by pkan

Downloads: 64,344 (30) • Reviews: 11

Version:

1.9

Updated:

Nov 29, 2017

Elevation correction plugin

Postby pkan » Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:28 am

I have relased a new version 1.4 of the Elevation Correction plugin.

Changes from version 1.3.1:
- Plugin repackaged in a SportTracks 2 Plugin Install Package (.st2plugin)
- Switched to new SRTM download location
- Modified GDAL handling in order to work with upcoming GDAL plugin releases
- Text buttons for navigation etc in list of installed DEMs replaced by icons

I have also done some internal code cleanup, which may have increased the risk of new bugs. Just let me know if you experience any problems.

@mazoaguirre: I added the new version in the plugin admin pages yesterday in anticipation of the release but didn't activate it. Apparently ST looks at all versions, including inactive ones, when checking for updates. This seems like a bug that should be fixed.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby mazoaguirre » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:09 am

i am damn fast :lol:
FR 310 and Foot Pod, Edge 500 and Cadence Sensor, GoPro HD 960
mazoaguirre.com
mazoaguirre
Contributor!
Contributor!
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 6:29 pm
Location: San Felipe "Torres Mochas" Guanajuato Mexico

Postby regi100 » Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:38 am

thanks pkan for the new release!

just working fine as usual 8)

cheers
/chris
Cycling / Mountainbiking / Running -> http://lubas.at
regi100
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:21 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Postby patrick_schere » Sat Jul 04, 2009 10:55 am

+ 1
Thank you very much, pkan. --- The only thing is, where is your donation wallet? :evil: :wink:

Regards,
Andreas
patrick_schere
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:25 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Postby sl70176 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 3:27 pm

This plugin works great for me at home, but I recently ran in another city and I got the following error:

The activity "gps 18/07/2009" could not be corrected because no valid elevation data was obtained from the Digital Elevation Model.

I have recently updated the plugin to 1.4, and I also tried manually downloading ".hgt" files for the location from the web, but I get the same error.
sl70176
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 3:22 pm

Postby HENNES » Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:46 am

pkan wrote:I have relased a new version 1.4 of the Elevation Correction plugin.

Changes from version 1.3.1:
- Plugin repackaged in a SportTracks 2 Plugin Install Package (.st2plugin)
- Switched to new SRTM download location
- Modified GDAL handling in order to work with upcoming GDAL plugin releases
- Text buttons for navigation etc in list of installed DEMs replaced by icons

I have also done some internal code cleanup, which may have increased the risk of new bugs. Just let me know if you experience any problems.

@mazoaguirre: I added the new version in the plugin admin pages yesterday in anticipation of the release but didn't activate it. Apparently ST looks at all versions, including inactive ones, when checking for updates. This seems like a bug that should be fixed.


When I go to STs settings
- plugins
- elevation correction plugin 1.3.1.

and hit INSTALL UPDATE it says "this plugin has to be manually removed first - ask the author"

What to do, please?
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby Stumpjumper68 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:01 am

The old version was designed under the old
plugin style, so installed in a different
folder than the new ST2 style plugin now.
So just delete the old version manually
download the new version and double click,
wait some seconds and confirm OK buttom.

Mensch Hennes das solltes du doch wissen :o
Image
Stumpjumper68
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: Bad Vilbel, Germany

Postby HENNES » Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:13 am

Stumpjumper68 wrote:The old version was designed under the old
plugin style, so installed in a different
folder than the new ST2 style plugin now.
So just delete the old version manually
download the new version and double click,
wait some seconds and confirm OK buttom.

Mensch Hennes das solltes du doch wissen :o


:lol:

After the chaos various old versions created with the old ST version and they were spread all over the place, I just wanted to avoid to install this thing over and over again too around my HD :evil:

gruss hennes
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby HENNES » Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:26 am

Ok, just found following instructions on the plugins homepage:

If you have installed an earlier version of the plugin using the old installation method of unzipping a compressed .zip file into the SportTracks Plugin folder, typically C:\Program Files\Zone Five Software\SportTracks 2.0\Plugins, you should uninstall the old version first by deleting the files ElevationCorrectionPlugin.dll and ICSharpCode.SharpZipLib.dll.



We will see :evil:
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby HENNES » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:05 am

HENNES wrote:Ok, just found following instructions on the plugins homepage:

If you have installed an earlier version of the plugin using the old installation method of unzipping a compressed .zip file into the SportTracks Plugin folder, typically C:\Program Files\Zone Five Software\SportTracks 2.0\Plugins, you should uninstall the old version first by deleting the files ElevationCorrectionPlugin.dll and ICSharpCode.SharpZipLib.dll.



We will see :evil:


Well well, it happened exactly as I expected:

deleted both files, hit the install on the new plugin, opened ST, no change, closed STs, reopened, no change...

Still shows 1.3 there and tells that there is a newer version :evil:

What to do now?
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby HENNES » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:25 am

I really dont understand this: As it didnt work the described way, I went along and changed the plugins.2 name to ElevationCorrectionPlugin-0.1.22.zip and unzipped it.

All files are from may 2008 - ???
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby Stumpjumper68 » Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:31 am

Here's the link to FAQ update a plugin
http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTr ... php?t=3996

You should read the last post, this could solve your problem.
Image
Stumpjumper68
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: Bad Vilbel, Germany

Postby pkan » Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:41 pm

sl70176 wrote:This plugin works great for me at home, but I recently ran in another city and I got the following error:

The activity "gps 18/07/2009" could not be corrected because no valid elevation data was obtained from the Digital Elevation Model.

I have recently updated the plugin to 1.4, and I also tried manually downloading ".hgt" files for the location from the web, but I get the same error.

@sl70176: If you export the activity to a .fitlog file and email it to me I'll take a look. I have sent you my email address by PM.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby pkan » Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:46 pm

@HENNES: The file name for v1.4 should be ElevationCorrectionPlugin_1.4.st2plugin. I'd recommend removing the old version and checking the plugin settings page to see that it is really gone before installing v1.4 by double-clicking ElevationCorrectionPlugin_1.4.st2plugin.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby HENNES » Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:02 am

Stumpjumper68 wrote:Here's the link to FAQ update a plugin
http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTr ... php?t=3996

You should read the last post, this could solve your problem.


Ive read that before, followed everything and still doesnt work!

pkan wrote:@HENNES: The file name for v1.4 should be ElevationCorrectionPlugin_1.4.st2plugin. I'd recommend removing the old version and checking the plugin settings page to see that it is really gone before installing v1.4 by double-clicking ElevationCorrectionPlugin_1.4.st2plugin.


Good Idea, but why does plugin page at:
http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTr ... .php?id=68

shows 1.22 Version and downloads that version too???
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Postby pkan » Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:19 am

HENNES wrote:...why does plugin page at:
http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTr ... .php?id=68

shows 1.22 Version and downloads that version too???

That link is to the ElevationCorrectionAnalysis plugin, written by gerhard. Its sole purpose is to copy the original GPS elevation track, as saved by the Elevation Correction plugin, to the power track. This is basically a hack to enable a side by side comparison of the original and corrected elevation data for users that might be interested. Maybe gerhard's plugin description should be clarified.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby pkan » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:45 am

pkan wrote:
sl70176 wrote:This plugin works great for me at home, but I recently ran in another city and I got the following error:

The activity "gps 18/07/2009" could not be corrected because no valid elevation data was obtained from the Digital Elevation Model.

I have recently updated the plugin to 1.4, and I also tried manually downloading ".hgt" files for the location from the web, but I get the same error.

@sl70176: If you export the activity to a .fitlog file and email it to me I'll take a look. I have sent you my email address by PM.

The location of this activity is in Canada, close to the US border. It is within an SRTM 1x1 degree cell that is covered by SRTM 1", but apparently the downloaded SRTM file for this cell only contains valid data for the US part. I will try to modify the logic for DEM selection so that the plugin ignores SRTM 1" and moves on to the next DEM in cases like this.

As a workaround you can change the DEM priorities in the plugin settings page so that SRTM 3" has higher priority than SRTM 1" and then correct the activity. This will force SRTM 3" to be used. After correcting the activity you may restore the old priorities if you wish.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby pkan » Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:23 am

While investigating the issue described by sl70176 above I discovered that a new version of the SRTM data with the SRTM 3" data recalculated has been released, see http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/What_are_these.pdf for more information. The download URL:s in version 1.4 of the Elevation Correction plugin are no longer valid, which means that all SRTM downloads with the Elevation Correction plugin currently fail. I will release an updated version of the plugin as soon as I've figured out how to best handle the transition to the new SRTM version.

Users who have already downloaded the elevation data won't be affected by the changed URLs. Users who need to download data and feel comfortable editing the SportTracks preferences file Preferences.System.xml can change the download URLs as a workaround until I've released an updated version of the plugin. To do this, find the line

<SrtmDem type="SRTM1" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2/SRTM1" />
<SrtmDem type="SRTM3" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2/SRTM3" />

in the preferences files and change to

<SrtmDem type="SRTM1" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM1" />
<SrtmDem type="SRTM3" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM3/OLD" />

If you choose to apply this workaround, I'd strongly recommend making a copy of the preferences file before editing it.

EDIT: There are currently some issues with missing files in the SRTM data. The workaround above should work in Europe, Asia, and North America, but fails in the rest of the world. An alternative is to replace the second line by

<SrtmDem type="SRTM3" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM3" />

which should work everywhere except in Canada beyond 55 degrees latitude.
Last edited by pkan on Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby sl70176 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:53 pm

A quick related question. What is the difference between SRTM 1" and SRTM 3"?
sl70176
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 3:22 pm

Postby sl70176 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:58 pm

pkan wrote:Users who need to download data and feel comfortable editing the SportTracks preferences file Preferences.System.xml can change the download URLs as a workaround until I've released an updated version of the plugin. To do this, find the line

<SrtmDem type="SRTM1" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2/SRTM1" />
<SrtmDem type="SRTM3" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2/SRTM3" />

in the preferences files and change to

<SrtmDem type="SRTM1" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM1" />
<SrtmDem type="SRTM3" source="NASA v2" baseURL="http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM3/OLD" />


I can't seem to find a file called Preferences.System.xml anywhere, nor any file containing the string "SrtmDem". Any ideas?
sl70176
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 3:22 pm

Postby pkan » Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:19 am

sl70176 wrote:A quick related question. What is the difference between SRTM 1" and SRTM 3"?

SRTM 1" and SRTM 3" refer to resolution in arc seconds, which correspond to 30m and 90m, respectively. 1 arc second data has only been released for the United States. Se the plugin homepage or the Wikipedia page on SRTM for more information.

sl70176 wrote:I can't seem to find a file called Preferences.System.xml anywhere, nor any file containing the string "SrtmDem". Any ideas?

See http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTracks/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=4290 for information on where SportTracks stores data. Preferences.System.xml is covered in the User Specific Settings and Data section.
pkan
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby ilanarama » Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:34 pm

I applied this correction to Preferences.System.xml and am still getting "unable to connect to server" errors. Also, when I attempt to get the elevation data, the file is changed back to its original SrtmDem settings.

ETA: Hmm, I think I have an old version of this plugin. I shall out with the old, in with the new and see if it changes things.

ETA2: Nope, still fails (and fails faster), although it doesn't overwrite the preferences file.
ilanarama
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Durango, CO

Postby regi100 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:28 am

thanks for the workaround 8)
updates are workin´ again
cheers
/chris
Cycling / Mountainbiking / Running -> http://lubas.at
regi100
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:21 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Download Server error: Is a new release comming to fix this?

Postby rbid » Thu Jul 30, 2009 2:13 am

I just downloaded the plugin and it could not download the elevation database.

Is a new release of this plugin soon to be release with the corrected server addresses?

ETA: Applying the work-around as mentioned in this thread, still gives me the same problem :(
--- Rbid (Ricky Marek in the Real World)
"Things are only impossible until they are not" --- Jean-Luc Picard
rbid
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby HENNES » Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:20 am

regi100 wrote:thanks for the workaround 8)
updates are workin´ again
cheers
/chris


rbid wrote:I just downloaded the plugin and it could not download the elevation database.

Is a new release of this plugin soon to be release with the corrected server addresses?

ETA: Applying the work-around as mentioned in this thread, still gives me the same problem :(


How does one realize that the plugin is working or not?

Without the plugin we have elevation data too (but wrong ones :evil: )
rgds hennes
- kickbiking with FR 305 and STs 3

runner´s map ... EURE Karte für Laufveranstaltungen - zum MITMACHEN!!!
http://www.runnersmap.info
...mehr als DREI TAUSEND Laufveranstaltungen!
HENNES
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:55 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Elevation Correction

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest