Maps not displaying

Post a question about the software or find answers here.

[ST3] Google Maps not working

Postby texmurphy » Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:15 pm

Google updated Terms of Service 21 January 2019. Among other ToS verbiage is the following which may be where failure occurs (my bolding):
Pass-Through Terms of Service. By no later than May 25, 2018, you will explicitly state in your website, application, or product’s terms of use that users are bound by the Google Maps/Google Earth Additional Terms of Service (including the Google Privacy Policy), and provide hyperlinks to both, unless your website or application already includes a hyperlink to these Maps/Earth Additional Terms whenever it displays Google Maps data.
texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!

Maps not displaying

Postby ozbiker2 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 3:58 am

I have been using ST for many years and have a huge database of riding in addition to many plugins that provide me with very useful functionality. I do not wish to change but from time to time certain parts of ST break and it is very frustrating.

This time it is the maps. I entered my Google API key a few weeks ago and maps have been working perfectly. Today they stopped without warning. Google and Ar maps fail to display at all. This applies to the maps and the terrain images. There is no diagnostic feedback and therefore no possibility of solving this problem from the user perspective.

What does it take to keep this software working?

The only diagnostic possibility is that since updating ST and adding my API key is get a "Script error" dialog each time ST is started. It states "An error occurred in the script on this page", line 31, char 1, error Syntax error, code 0, url http://maps.myosotissp.com/gmaps.html. Do you want to continue running scripts on this page? I select Yes and ST starts, apparently normally, and up to today functions without error.

Does anyone have a solution to this problem?
ozbiker2

Re: Maps not displaying