Pool Swimming

by old_man_biking

Downloads: 1,397 (11) • Reviews: 8

Version:

3.0.5913

Updated:

Mar 10, 2016

Tracks Missing

Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:55 am

Tracks missing after the change of swimming style, in the documentaion pluing and after restart of SportTracks in the activity. (see appendix)
I changed before from 1 intervall recorded by my vivoactive HR to 10 Intervalls with "Intervall nach dieser Bahn aufteilen".
Attachments
BahnenFehlen.png
BahnenFehlen.png (47.44 KiB) Viewed 9651 times
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby old_man_biking » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:01 am

Sorry, but in order to help you I need a reasonable amount of information:
1. how did the activity look like BEFORE you applied the change
2. what exactly did you do
3. how did it look like after your change and what exatly isn't correct
4. and please add a zipped .FIT file of this activity so that I have a chance to reproduce whatever you did and observed.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6512
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:34 am

Steps:
- Import file (1 interval)
- Create Intervalls every 200m "Intervall nach dieser Bahn aufteilen" (10 intervalls)
- documentation will be created, tracks already missing (see picture former message)
- save file and close sporttracks
- open sporttracks
- nowTracks also are missing in the pool-plugin
Attachments
6ALK1546.ZIP
(2.31 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Fri Nov 04, 2016 4:51 pm

Do you have already a fix?
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby old_man_biking » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:49 am

runner2014 wrote:Steps:
- Import file (1 interval)
- Create Intervalls every 200m "Intervall nach dieser Bahn aufteilen" (10 intervalls)
- documentation will be created, tracks already missing (see picture former message)
- save file and close sporttracks
- open sporttracks
- nowTracks also are missing in the pool-plugin


Hhm, I tried to reproduce your issue and I found something strange.
When I split the activity into intervals of 4 lengths each,
then switch to another activity and back to your activity,
some of these lengths only consist of 3 lengths - and not 4. So 1 has disappeared.
Is this what you observed?

Well, I then imported your .FIT file with Garmin FIT Devices plugin.
First observation: it showed two warning messages "inconsistency in lap no. 1 after 0,00 km: missing length".
So obviously your .FIT file is slightly corrupt.
I then split this very activity into intervals of 4 lengths and: it behaved well - no disappearing lengths.

Bottom line: you .FIT file is slightly corrupt. ST's standard importer doesn't care, imports "as is" and creates a source for further problems.
Garmin FIT Devices plugin can import the .FIT file in a way that prevents subsequent problems when editing the activity.

Cheers,
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6512
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:55 am

I recorded an new Session after updating the firemware, but there is the same bevahivor.
After splitting is the first record of the new session deleted (yellow marked). Please see attachment.

Using the Garmin FIT Devices plugin to import the file I got the same message like you also with the new fit-file ("inconsistency in lap no. 1 after 0,00 km: missing length"). But by importing these Fit-Files in https://connect.garmin.com there is no mnessage that the file is corrupt. The session looks like in sporttracks after import.

I guess there is an error in your plugin handling to split the sessions.

swimm.jpg
swimm.jpg (168.88 KiB) Viewed 9529 times
Last edited by runner2014 on Sat Nov 12, 2016 2:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:00 am

see also
Attachments
swimm2.jpg
swimm2.jpg (111.79 KiB) Viewed 9529 times
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby old_man_biking » Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:59 am

In order to let you edit the intervals and lengths, the plugin requires the recorded data not to contain inconsistencies.
Garmin Connect doesn't let you edit, hence it can afford some sloppiness and silently tolerates inconsistencies.
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6512
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:23 am

Is it true that the recorded data are incosistent? Maybe, but the the error message comes from your Garmin FIT Devices Plugin not from Garmin-Tools. I can not use the plugin for splitting etc. Please send me then money payed for this plugin back.
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby old_man_biking » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:09 pm

runner2014 wrote:Is it true that the recorded data are incosistent? Maybe, but the the error message comes from your Garmin FIT Devices Plugin not from Garmin-Tools. I can not use the plugin for splitting etc. Please send me then money payed for this plugin back.

Send me a pm with your order id and I'll have a look.
OMB
old_man_biking
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 6512
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby runner2014 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:44 am

I can't send you an pm. User doesn't exist!
runner2014
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 am

Re: Tracks Missing

Postby texmurphy » Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:32 pm

texmurphy
Donated!
Donated!
 
Posts: 2125
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Maryland, USA


Return to Pool Swimming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest